Bucharest

Standard

There were a lot of things went inside my mind when I planned to give Romania a try. Most of the writings of the so-called travel writers meant to scare me off. Which fortunately I was not. Most of the opinions about Romania were negative, scary, unsafe, under developed and you have to be on the watch left and right all the time, 24-7 without fail. Few even went further by stating that it is a country not worth a visit. So, I decided to give it a try. Let just see how bad can it be, because seriously, I don’t care. I want to see Romania and I want to see it in her most honest form; as it is. So I went to Bucharest, the capital of Romania. These are what I found.

 

DSCF1765

DSC_3682 DSC_3773

Iiliu Maniu broken statue symbolized his resistance to Communism which later claimed his life. He was found guilty by the kanggaroo court of Communism and sent for life imprisonment in Sighet Prison. Due to his already old age, he died in the prison and his body was thrown in the common grave at the prison’s yard.

This rooftop was famous in 1989 when the late Nicolae Ceausescu gave his final speech attempted to calm the people of Romania who were more than readied to throw out his government. His attempt failed and he fled from Bucharest by helicopter with his wife from this rooftop, while thousands of people saw their helicopter fled Bucharest. They were later captured by the army at Targoviste and sentenced to death on Christmas Day, December 25, 1989.

DSC_3506

the notorious Vlad the Impaler

DSC_3545

DSC_3663     DSC_3642

DSC_3728

The Romanian Athenaeum, a concert hall in the center of Bucharest, Romania and a landmark of the Romanian capital city. The overall style is neoclassical, with some more romantic touches. In front of the building there is a small park and a statue of Romanian poet Mihai Eminescu.

DSC_3491

       DSC_3485              DSC_3606

Manuc’s Inn or Hanul lui Manuc (in Romanian) is the oldest operating hotel building in Bucharest, Romania. At the time of our visit, it is recently shut for restoration and refurbishment. That’s explain the men on the roof.

 

 

       20121119_125251              20121120_132414_Harry

DSC_3516   DSC_3533   DSC_3613

DSC_3520

DSC_3621

DSC_3579

entrance to Stavropoleos Monastery.

                                 DSC_3763        20121121_210131

street booksellers near the University of Bucharest, along the street of Piata Universitatii.

Back on the road to Brasov. I was not done yet with Romania.

DSC_3692

Those fallen heroes during the 1989 Revolution.

On my final night in Bucharest, I reflected on all those books and writings. I said, they were not being fair. I can tolerate Bucharest. I supposed, they should too..

Leave a Reply

