Weekly Photo Challenge: Silhouette

Image

Makkah al Mukarramah or widely known in the West as Mecca is the holiest place for Muslim and home to Kaabah; the pillar of direction of Muslim prayers. Makkah is also a pilgrimage site for Hajj, which is obligatory for all able Muslim (depending on terms as guided in the holy book of Al Quran). Therefore, it is a spiritual experience to be in the heart of Islam most beloved city. The weather was scorching hot when I was there. The population was constantly increased but the pilgrims remained focused on their main objective in being here, to worship God and to repent for all of their sins. I was able to document through pictures, the insides of Makkah from my own view. This was on the second floor of Masjidil Haram or Masjid al Haram; the largest mosque in the world surrounding Kaabah. The sky looked so blue and people on the balcony were waiting for a call to prayer by the muezzin. Once the call to prayer vibrating through the late afternoon winds, I grab my camera and shoot this. I can never explain the serene and calming effect I had at this moment, right before my fingers hit the shoot button. I hope, my photo does it for me.

“Verily, unto God do we belong and, verily, unto Him we shall return”. -al Baqarah

Leave a comment